Book Review

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Review

harry-potter-and-the-cursed-child

“Thank you for being my light in the darkness.”

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Author(s): J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Pages: 330

Anyone who knows me knows how much I love the Harry Potter franchise. I’ve read the books, watched all the films, been to the Harry Potter Studios twice and yes, I’m on Pottermore (and I’ve been sorted into Slytherin!)

When I found that an eighth book was coming out, I have to be honest, I felt quite sceptical. I found myself feeling convinced that it wouldn’t be anywhere near as good as the previous books. Why ruin a good thing? But I put the book on my Christmas list and my lovely sister Hannah, got it for me! This weekend, I was having a “me” weekend, meaning a massage and shopping (admittedly for my husband’s birthday) but I decided to pick up the book for some solid reading time.

So, the book follows a grown up Harry Potter, who now has three childrenĀ and is married to Ginny Weasley (if you’re a fan of the franchise, this courtship shouldn’t really come as a surprise!) The story mainly focuses on the middle child Albus, who strikes up an unlikely friendship with Scorpius Malfoy. Albus’ relationship with Harry is already strained, but when he overhears a private conversation, things go from bad to worse.

Determined to change the future, Albus and Scorpius team up for an epic adventure which unfortunately, involves dragging up the past.

Time-turners, Parseltongue and burning scars, is Voldemort really gone or is there someone worse waiting to take his place? Will friendship prevail over everything? And can Professor McGonagall keep control over it all?

When I discovered that the format of the book was a script, I didn’t think I’d enjoy it all. I thought I’d get distracted with constantly having to check who was saying what and reading about what happens on the stage (whilst not actually seeing the play.) But, I was completely wrong and this all just added to the experience of reading the book. It was actually very refreshing to read a book with a different format and layout and I’ll definitely reach for scripts more often.

There were some times where I was slightly confused with the different times – I’m not the best with keeping up with the different challenges and wiping the past etc. so I did have to go back and re-read a few paragraphs before I got lost!

I read it in a day and thoroughly enjoyed it – it was especially great to read what the main characters in the Harry Potter franchise have been up to since the last book. Again, J.K.Rowling does a tremendous job.

Great read – but is there any way I can get tickets to see the actual play anytime soon?!

Score – 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

