Book Review

Girl Online: Going Solo Review

girl-online-going-solo

“We can all be part of supporting one another to reach our own personal, individual goals in life;  none of us are travelling alone along the path that leads there.”

Title – Girl Online: Going Solo
Author – Zoe Sugg
Pages – 327

Well, there we have it. As it stands, I’ve reached the end of the Girl Online series. And I’m extremely sad about it!

It took me a little while longer to read the final instalment, but this could be down to the fact that I was dragging it out a bit – trying not to reach the end!

At the end of Girl Online: On Tour, I felt like the story ended on a bit of a cliffhanger. Penny and Noah discuss that they need to spend some time apart following the difficulties they faced while on the road with each other. Again, I found myself feeling desperate to know what happens to them! There were so many unanswered questions that needed to be resolved!

Girl Online: Going Solo is exactly what is says on the tin. Penny is single, with no idea where Noah has disappeared to. There’s been no communication and no clue as to his whereabouts so she’s left to continue with her life. As they discussed. However, she can’t shake the feeling that Noah’s ghost is everywhere she goes. However, things quickly change when Megan invites Penny to London to visit the prestigious Madame Laplage school, where she clicks with a hunky photographer called Callum.

I was really pleased with how the story developed and then ended – I think it was the perfect way to finish the story. I was slightly disappointed that there was next to no mention of Penny’s brother Tom (their relationship was so lovely) and I feel that there was a lack of resolution with what happened to Leah Brown as a result of Megan. And speaking of Megan, I totally called what she was really like back in the first book! Go me! I was also thrilled with how it ended between Penny and Noah ( I don’t want to mention what happens because I don’t want to spoil it for other readers) and was delighted to see the continuation of Girl Online.

Again, it was packed with adult themes such as divorce, the seriousness of the music industry and again, anxiety. But the book shows the reader that there is a way out of every issue, it doesn’t matter if you’re falling out with friends or if you’re unsure of the future -there’s always a resolution – hence the quote at the start of the review!

As I said earlier, I’m really sad that the series is over! I’m not too sure if Zoe will write another book because I’m not entirely sure where the story could go, but I’m really hoping she does! Easy to read, fun and totally predictable, I’d highly recommend you give the whole series a go!

P.S. Now that the series’ finished, did any of you picture Noah looking exactly like Matt Healy from The 1975?! I know I did, and thankfully, he’s on my laminated list (if you know what I mean?!) Just something to think about!

Score – 4 out of 5

One thought on “Girl Online: Going Solo Review

Leave a Reply

