Book Review

Girl Online Review

girl-online

“When you find someone who really likes you for you, and you really like them for them, you have to do all you can to not lose them.”

Title – Girl Online
Author – Zoe Sugg
Pages – 344

 

This is my first book review and what a way to start!

Being a 24-year-old, married woman, you may be thinking that I’m a bit on the old side to be reading this. No chance! I’m a huge Zoella fan, loving everything she releases and writes. I know that I’m slightly late to the party – Girl Online was released back in 2014 but it’s only now that I’ve decided to read this bestseller.

I’m going to try my absolute best not to give any spoilers but if I do, I apologise profusely! The story focuses on an unlikely relationship between Brighton-based Penny Porter and smooth-talking New Yorker, Noah Flynn.

When Penny’s mother is invited to plan a wedding in the Big Apple, it’s the perfect opportunity for Penny to face her anxieties head on. It’s when she meets Noah that the story really develops.

However, Penny knows that something isn’t quite right. Noah is reluctant to be seen in public and people stop and stare when he walks by, but what is he hiding? Penny also has her own secrets as she is the author of an anonymous blog, called Girl Online. When she starts blogging about her relationship with Noah (whom she refers to as Brooklyn Boy) it’s only a matter of time until the whole truth comes out.

The story is full of twists and unexpected turns, which is great to read in a novel aimed for teens.

I am an avid reader – hence the start of this blog and I have to say that it’s been a while since I’ve stayed up late to specifically finish a book! I couldn’t wait to reach the end to see what happens and it’s taken a lot of will power not to start the second book, until I wrote this.

The most important aspect of the book for me was that it tackled real issues that affect people of all ages every single day. I think this is cleverly narrated through the lives of the characters in the book. I’d especially like to mention how much I enjoyed the lovely relationship between Penny and Tom, her brother. It’s funny, because Zoe, the author has a brother called Joe and it looks as though they have the best relationship ever! And this is certainly emphasised through the characters. Tom is fiercely protective of his little sister and looks out for her constantly –it really made me think about my relationship with my siblings and how close we all are with one another.

Although the story is slightly predictable and points out the obvious sometimes, it really didn’t stop me from enjoying it. You can really see a huge part of Zoe in Penny which makes the book more realistic in my opinion. A great read!

Score – 4 out of 5

 

2 thoughts on “Girl Online Review

Leave a Reply

